New printer - performance tests and impressions

I received my “Factory Reconditioned” Form 1+ last week and have been tinkering trying to get the hang of things and learning the quirks of the machine. I am new to 3D-printing so this will continue to be a learning experience. I am growing my business and this printer was a big investment that should attract many new clients.

I have browsed through the forum and naturally stumbled upon the laser thread. I got very concerned after reading the thread, but have since produced some really amazing prints so I am less worried. I do have some concerns though which I will get to later.

I conducted a laser spot test with the top down, so I will redo it with the machine open. Results show a slight flare, but pretty small IMO:

I have not done the thin cross test yet, but did do the helix walls @.025. I thought the results in clear were very good - there was no flaking and only a few small blemishes (note the scratch is from my finger feeling the surface finish before curing). The main flaw is a sort of “flare” on the very base where it contacted the build platform. The little notch also came out very sloppy:

I have had great luck printing in clear and white, but black seems to be a bit tricky. I am finding a lot of “debris” collecting on the model with a sort of sludge build up that makes for a messy IPA bath cleanup. It all comes off the model in the end, but I was surprised to see so much - and only with black.