Broken Laser?

Hello!
Our printer at the office has started to act more and more crazy as the prints has started to malfunction and look deformed.

I work as an industrial designer and the company that hires me offered me to use their printer, a Formlabs Form 2, they bought back in 2015 december 22. They had only used it 5-6 times when it was newly bought and then they realized that 3D-printing wasn’t as easy as they thought and the printer became un-used. Until a year ago they offered me and my colleague to use the printer and we were amazed by the result. But his spring the prints started to vary in success. The printer started to fail and the outcome was prints that had big holes and the finish was kinda blurry or smudgy.

We contacted the company that sold the printer to us and we started fail searching. We have done everything to it. Pulled it apart, cleaned it, sent the company logs and files, updated, resetted and so on but everything seems to be right. So he suspects that it is the laser that is failuring. Then the guy at the company checks receipt of the printer and basicly returns. “The printer is to old so there is no warranty left. You have to send the printer in it’s original box back to Germany for a service. If you want me to do anything more in this arrend you have to pay 10 000 Swedish kronor (Something like $1000) and I will start an service case for you”.

Is this resonable? We have printed 88 prints and used 5.5 litres (1.45 gallons) of resin and it has to do a $1000 dollar service! And if I understand everything right we can’t even send it to service since we don’t have the original packaging box left. I have seen more other with this problem and as I see it it is an production flaw of the printer and warranty shouldn’t be a factor here.

can someone please help me. The company here in Sweden won’t even help me if they don’t get their $1000.

Best regards

Fabian

1 Like