Form3L or Fuse1?

Hi,

I am a shoe designer thats currenly going back and forth between the Form3l and the Fuse1 for outsole/midsole production. I need my end result to be something like 95-105A hardness TPU that can be worn/stressed all day, year long. My dillema is that I’m not sure which printing method (SLA or SLS) could achieve the durability I’m looking for.

On paper, the detail of the Form2, & 3 are exactly what I need. People are telling me to opt for SLS printing services, even though Adidas and Puma have released 3D Printed outsole shoes with resin-based printers.

^^ This leads me to believe I might be able to get away with using SLA printing for my production in this instance as opposed to the powder-based SLS stuff.

Interested in you guys’ thoughts.

Hello,
as you probably know SLA is already being used for shoe production:
Formlabs
Carbon & Adidas

The advantage of SLS is that you can print without supports, the powders are more expensive though and the surface is not as smooth as with SLA. And the Fuse1 isn’t available yet while the Form3 is.
Why do you want a Form3L? Do you plan to print shoes for very big feet?

1 Like

Hi, the resin developed by FormLabs for New Balance (see link above) seems to be proprietary to them (understandably).

But you can contact FormLabs with your requirements and see if they are willing to develop something with you - asking doesn’t cost anything :wink:

The “flexible” and “elastic” resins are both not suitable for what you want to do, which is end-use parts if I understood this correctly. “Flexible” is a bit soft and tears very easily, “elastic” is much too soft.

The Fuse 1 won’t be out for some time, plus it will only print Nylon at the start, and nobody knows if it will ever print TPU, and which kind.