Form 3 wants me to manually fill resin?

Hi,
I’m super new to SLA printers and setting up my Form 3+ for the first time. Tank is loaded, resin cartridge loaded, latest firmware updated I sliced and uploaded 3D model. Now when I try to start print it’s asking me to manually fill tank to the fill line. I’m super confused, why can’t printer do it on it’s own? Is this step required? I read and watch some guides I could find and none of them mention manually filling tank… What am I doing wrong?

how very interesting i know folks have done this in the past but first time i have heard of the printer suggesting it…a new tank i assume?

Yes brand new. I assume I can skip it, but as this is my very first time using it, I though I’d ask :slight_smile:

You can skip it. It’s only letting you know that emptying a cartridge by hand on an empty tank will save you hours of filling.
On the 3L that trip has been there for ages and it’s a full cartridge instead of a portion of it.

1 Like

won’t that mess up the resin amount tracking?

2 Likes

It’s already messed up. Half cartridges report being empty and empty ones report being one quarter full.
I can’t remember the last time any printer got it right.

2 Likes

what I told them we should be doing is having a way of entering the weight of the cartridge before a print job and it knows how much is in the tray we should be able to get much closer to being accurate it would require us to weigh the cartridge though and enter a value on the printer or in preform

1 Like

Thanks everyone! Good point about resin tracking. I’m trying to fill it up “naturally” now. Been about hour and a half. It’s pouring very slowly and already gave me error and asked to check bite valve (which seem to be fine). I having hard time believing that I spent over $5K on this printer and all accessories (not to mention $150 on resin) and it basically can’t even dispense resin right…

1 Like