Fail Base Print Black Resin

Hi Guy,

I’m new to the SLA Printing. Got the Form 2 Printer last week. I’ve had 4 Successful prints using Clear Resin.
The Prints came out fantastic. My boss was blow away. So he asked me can we do Black I said sure.
I switch out the cartridge from Clear to Black. Also install a fresh new resin tank. Print is 11hrs.
Half way through the base which was only 6 layer. I heard a nasty sound coming from the printer. Printer stopped and notice a corner of the base was peeling. That cant be good.
Here is a picture of the Base. Looks like flakes every where. Looks like the base layers did not cure.
The resin Tank had a bunk of black Resin flakes.
The only thing I can think of that I did different was shake the cartridge to mix the resin as recommended.
Something I did not do with the Clear Resin.
Everything is Clean no dust on anything. Could it be the resin was bad.

Thank you

What is it supposed to look like? Post a screen grab from PreForm.

Describe “nasty sound”.

What do you mean “halfway through the base which was only 6 layer”? The base thickness defaults to 2mm so at 0.1mm layer height, there are 20 layers in the base. Are you saying the print was on layer 6 when the printer started making the noise?:

How did you notice a corner of the base was peeling? With only 6 layers printed, the printed resin on the build plate will be hard to see and coated in drippy resin. Unless you mean it was just sort of hanging off when the platform rose up between layers?

Why did the printer stop? Did you stop it or did it stop itself?

Go back to the clear resin and tank and confirm you can still print with that successfully.