Detail is significantly worse around the support area?

I’ve noticed with all my prints at 0.25 I get superb clean fine detail in the area furthest away from the supports. Then the closer to the supports up to the support area the details get lost and appear more blobby.

Is anyone else getting this?

yes I get this as well and the darker the resin is the more it appears. I raise the “height above” base to 10 to optimize it. It helps the resin to flow while peeling. I also add more supports in some cases manualy to prevent warping of the resin between the support points at smallest size.

Cheers Marcus, will try also raising the supports. I wonder if clear resin works better then? Any theorys as to why it does this?

@Edward_Peretti, I am a beginner at 3D Printing, but just from my few experiences at trying to print an enclosed 1mm diameter tension specimen, I concluded to do away with all internal supports and use slow printing instead. The solidifying supports want to distort in their own way on solidification (phase-change). This distorts any weak structure that it is supporting.

well in theory if printing darker resins the laserpower is stronger and while at higher resolutions the laser gets in closer contact with the previous printed layers it might have some effect on it.

I think the best solution for me is to add a spacer object between my model and the supports, then cut and sand off.

2 Likes

This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

Guys I’m still getting really bad loss of detail and blobbing and roughness of the surface where the supports are touching the model. It feels to me as if maybe resin is trickling from the build platform and settling on the support area and somehow curing via the UV laser when it cures the resin below it? This could be a big disadvantage with SLA printing upside down. What do you guys think?