Crust in Resin Tank

can anyone tell me why in the Resin Tank forms a crust? Does it depend on the temperature?
What can I do to prevent?
The tank is 15 hours old, clean and transparent. the White Resin new
Thanks for your help

It doesn’t form a crust. I’ve been using FormLabs printers for almost 2 years now and I have never seen this happen. There’s something wrong. Either the resin is bad, or UV light from somewhere is exposing the resin.

I’m inclined to say it’s UV and not bad resin. Given the “crust” is dead center in the middle of the tank, I have to wonder if the Laser is shutting off completely. Powered down, the galvos probably end up pointed at the center of the resin tray.

I suggest an experiment… scoop that crust out of the tank, let the printer sit overnight and see if it reforms a crust. If it does, scoop out the new crust and unplug the printer and let it sit over night (both cases, with the cover closed). Still get a crust, it’s something to do with the resin itself. If you don’t get a crust, there’s a problem with your printer and you need to open a ticket with FL to get it fixed.

1 Like

Hi, Randy
many thanks for your answer. The printer is in the cellar in the dark what excludes any source of light.
Anyway, last night the printer was off and no scab has formed. I printed a copy this morning. Without problems !!!
I keep a diary. So I’ve found that between 40 to 60 hours the crust forms.
Yesterday I printed in 82 min. a small piece. Right after I wanted to print a copy. And it was there that the crust is formed. I noticed when start printing, the resin was already hot, above 30 ° exactly 34.2 ° it’s normal? After how many hour you change the Resin Tank?

I am not sure I understand. You printed one object in 82 minutes and when you went to print another copy the crust had formed? But if it takes 40-60 hours to form, I don’t see how the crust formed between the first and second print.