Build Platform - how long is right away?

In the support article, they say “If you are switching resin types, or if you do not plan to reuse the build platform right away, clean the build platform with IPA and paper towels to thoroughly remove liquid resin from the build surface and edges.” My question is how long is right away? A few days, weeks? We are just starting to learn the quirks of our Form 3 and I’m completely new to SLA printing so any input would be appreciated!

While printing in Black V4 for the past 6 months I don’t think I ever clean build platform with IPA. Even with 1 week break between prints I would just let it sit inside printer as it was. No issues.

Thanks for your input! I guess there is no set time frame for how long the printer can sit and there be no need to clean the platform. With the lid closed I don’t imagine there’s much chance for the resin to harden on the build platform in a matter of days or weeks…

I’m the opposite - I always clean the build plate well after each print.

Resin starts to cure when it’s exposed to light. And I think thinner layers (like you’d have on some parts of the platform) cure more quickly. Also, resin exposed on the build platform outside the printer can pick up contaminants like dust.

I typically either put the resin-covered platform back in the printer after removing a print, or wipe it clean with IPA and paper towels. A couple times when I was in a rush, I put the platform (with resin still on it) in a dark cupboard for a few days without any ill effect.

I’ve left resin-covered platforms inside the printer for several weeks (or longer) also with no ill-effect.

I would not suggest leaving a resin-covered build platform outside the printer for any longer than the time you need to work with it. There’s no rush, but if you leave it for days (or in too much light) you might have to scrub off partially-cured or contaminated resin before using it.