3D Print Room and DIY UV Curebox

Hello All,

I am fairly new to the 3d forums, and the company I work for has recently decided to invest in a 3D printer. Our first step into the 3d printing world has begun with Formlabs, and I am here to share our results with the community! Below are pictures of our 3d Print room and the the UV cure-box that has been built.

3D Print Lab:

The room has been fitted with:

• two wall cabinets that have an open-bottom section that serves as a display for the prints.
  • a high work table that holds the finishing kit and a Dremel workstation
  • a metal peg board for easy access to tools.

The Form 2 Printer sits on a rolling cabinet. This is ideal when any maintenance needs to be performed however the drawback (pausing the print before opening a drawer) can get annoying, but it is a small price to pay. The room serves dual functionalities of not only being the 3d print-lab for the company, but also a showcase room for new technologies for visitors in the building. Additional items still needed to complete the room are a dedicated computer and a large monitor screen.

UV Cure-box:
Since the company dedicated an entire room for this equipment, I built a professional-looking UV cure-box while not spending absurd amounts of money.

Equipment needed:

• Soldering iron w/ solder
  • Wire shrink tubes
  • 405 nm led strip (non-waterproof)
  • AC power supply that will work with the LED strip (12V, 5A max, 60Watt max is the one i used)
  • Wire w/ wire strippers
  • Wire to power supply connector (green/black in the pictures)
  • LED controller with remote (optional)
  • Aluminum foil lining (Al sheet-metal typically used for building was used in the box, but store bought Al foil will work just fine) [may need to use 2 or 3 layers if the foil is thin]
  • 3m double sided tape
  • threaded rods
  • clear glass or clear plastic sheet
  • Plastic-Storage container
  • Drill machine

Step 1: Measuring/ Figuring-It-Out
find: