Rhodium plated mirror

I’m interested in purchasing a form 1+, but i’m concerned about reliability. i’ve seen many issues associated with the mirror and laser.

a couple things i’d like to suggest, and maybe someone will try this and it’ll work.

one thing, could a rhodium plated mirror work? rhodium was used to plate the reflectors in spot lights during WWII. it’s ability to withstand high temperatures made it successful.

my other suggestion is related to laser heat dissipation. i’m not an engineer, but i do understand that heat changes the way any material performs. i wonder if cooling the laser with liquid nitrogen could be a solution. refrigerated tractor trailers sometimes use liquid nitrogen for direct refrigeration. regulate the supply of liquid nitrogen, and use a cap tube(s) to deliver low velocity nitrogen cooling. conveniently, this positive pressure might even help keep dust out.

maybe even direct nitro flow over the mirror as well.

i look forward to your thoughts.

Form1 issues cannot be due to overheating, as currents and powers involved are way too small. You typically don’t need cooling until you hit about 200 mW, and even then, a decent block of aluminium with passive cooling will do the job.

While more resilient than glass, rhodium is not a very good choice because of relatively low reflectivity. Aluminium is the way to go, and if coated properly (with a quartz protective layer), should be about as mechanically resistant as glass.

what about just cooling the mirror?

The laser is already clamped to a block of aluminum, so no problem. It barely gets warm. The mirror does not heat up. As long as it is in a climate controlled room, you are good.

isn’t a regular mirror while being produced always a first surface mirror until it gets a protection coat? In this youtube clip is explained how to strip the protection coat off a mirror to get a first surface mirror: