Newbie question on support structures

I’m a newbie to printing on the Form 1+ and have a question on support structures. Since I don’t want to add too much supports, I used the minimal density and minimal size while generating the supports. Will it be enough? What are the considerations I have to keep in mind?

Support structures and part orientation are a bit of an art. I use the smallest point size for just about everything. Most things, i manually place the support points, as minimally as I think makes sense. There is not a hard and fast rule of 'Use settings A, B, and C, and every part will print great. Its just not that simple. Post some pictures of what you are trying to print and/or upload the .form file, and give us a chance to recomend some things.

After a few prints you will get the hang of it.

Thank you, Paul.

I tried to upload a few pictures, but the upload to this forum fails again and again. Is there something wrong at the moment?

It appears that there is something wrong. I get an error as well.

I’ll try to upload some pictures tomorrow… :wink:

If you are itching for some input, you could upload to imgur.com or another image hosting site and share the link here.

How large (kb/mb) are your pics? Larger than 2/3mb won’t upload to this forum.

The files are way smaller. I’ll give it another try:

What do you think: too little supports?

Hey @Jolmer, you have the basics right, though it’s a little hard to tell if you’ve properly positioned the model in space. It can definitely improve. I see you’re printing at 0.05mm. I would change that to 0.1mm.

Furthermore, check the basic rules which I’ve described here. these rules are based on multiple user-experiences of Form1(+) owners.

1 Like

Hey Alex, thank you very much!