Jewelry burnout schedules

Hey guys! I participated in the Jewellry Printing topic, but I have a few questions more specific to sterling silver. I’ve had some success, but today decided to cast seven pendants and a prototype of an earring, and every one of the casts was incomplete. It was a filigree design but not too delicate. Should have been fairly easy to cast.

I have some casting experience, but am by no means an expert. I am prototyping and will then send designs that make the cut out to a casting house.

I know that in the past I’ve had the flask at a casting temperature closer to the 1100°F temperature, and after troubleshooting today with a fellow jewelry artist, she asked if I had cast somewhere around 1100°F. That’s when I realized that the Formlabs recommended temperature is only 900°F. I’ve only used this schedule in the past. Maybe I was just lucky?

One other thing…I was not ready to cast today after the one hour hold, so I held the flask at 900°F for about three hours (yeah, I LOST my new shipment of sterling casting grain somewhere!!). I used a KayaCast vacuum casting setup with a 3.5"x4" perforated flask. I’m also using Kerr Satincast, but have had great results with it on other castings. So a couple of questions:

• Is there a possibility that the longer hold allowed the internal temperature to actually settle at 900°F, making it lower than the Formlabs schedule?
  • Is 900°F actually too low?
  • Does Formlabs have an adjusted schedule for different size flasks, like Kerr? I frequently cast in a much smaller flask (2x2.5, 2.5x3), but have been running that crazy 14-hour schedule because I haven’t had time to experiment.

I’m curious what temperature others are ramping down to. Many thanks!

If you can, please post some pictures. The nice thing about casting is the casts record many details for trouble-shooting.

What temperature did you heat your silver to?

1100` is way too hot for casting sterling; Questions…