How dangerous IPA really is?

Hi,

I would love to know what do you guys think about how dangerous IPA really is. My room is not well ventillated but still decent when I open the window a bit. What worries me the most is the risk of combustion of the fumes. I live in Canada so it is a bit cold, I thus need a warmer or my resin wont work if the window is open. I was wondering if the fumes from the IPA when I work with it to clean my tools, or when I transfill it in and out of the CW1 tank could get ignited by the warmer. I read it need 2% of IPA in the air to ignite but how much that really is? Would I pass out even before that threshold?

Thanks,
kdude

You will get varying replies on this question.

For me no real issue. I’ve been using the IPA for over 5 years in what should be my living room. Up until a year ago I also had a high end Epilog laser system running that had a powerful exhaust system so the air turned in the room quite often. Since I sold that I have no extra venting and see no difference.

Two years ago I went through extensive lung tests and thee where no issues. I asked the doctor about the IPA and he said there was no problem with using it.

You don’t want to be sticking your nose in the tank of course. I have run my 2 Form 2 units 14 hours a day with most prints being about 3 hours long. about 12 jobs a day run through the Form Wash unit. No real smell except when draining the freshly washed parts.

My wife is very susceptible to fumes and has countless allergies. She works in the same room basically every day. We had to move out of Florida because of her allergies. She was hospitalized a number of times over it. Not had any issues here in Indiana and none with my use of the Form Labs equipment.

Just one view of IPA usage. I also run stills to reuse the IPA. Of course I do that outside.

3 Likes

I guess its worth looking at a material safety data sheet and ask yourself.