Heat maps in Dashboard instead of Preform?

I think the new heat maps look perfect - except - why are they in Dashboard instead of Preform?

I think that taking advantage of them by comparing an image and guessing where to place objects really diminishes the usefulness of them.

3 Likes

I understand the business decision to have them in the dashboard…going forward cloud based software just makes more sense. Maybe Preform 3.0 will be cloud based…who knows.

That being said, for the time being it would be infinitely more helpful to be able to project the heat map on the floor (ceiling?) in Preform.

2 Likes

I am a software developer and can’t say I agree. Preform is the software sending the jobs to the printer, so it should certainly be able to keep track of the prints.

Exactly.

I am a software dev too. I realize Preform sends the jobs to the printer, my only point was maybe a future version of Preform would be cloud based (i.e. Preform wouldn’t exist as a standalone app but as a browser based app).

That being said if it were an Amazon based app then no one would be able to print today!!! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I really hope not. Given the choice between cloud based software and software running local, I would pick local hands down any day.

For one, my Internet connection proves to be less-than-reliable half the time, and it would be lame if I can’t print because I can’t connect reliably to the Internet.

1 Like

I mostly agree with you there. In the case of printer software (be it traditional printing or 3d printing) it does just make sense that everything be local.

Today’s S3 outage caused websites and other internet based services to go down including Internet connected light bulbs. I’ll be completely honest and say idk wtf an internet light bulb is (smart homes I imagine?), but IMO the basic function of a light bulb should not be dependent on the internet (nor should a 3D printer).