Ghost or shadow lines on Model Prints

I am printing in Gray V3, while I am new to Form 2, not new to printing and modeling. On my recent prints I have noticed that there were lines on the printed model, not everywhere, but they appear when a object is on the surface of the model. I have scraped them away (kinda) on the first time, and on the second time I used a q-tip and IPA to scrub them down at the end of the wash cycle. I can’t predict where or when they will appear. Otherwise the prints are very successful.

Note the streaks that appear after the rivet detail, they were on the larger tank body too, after a designed seam line, but only on one side. I used the auto align and support tab.

Thanks,
Les

What’s the STL like? Is it a single shell, or are their separate shells for the different parts?

Those look like the patterns you get if you have separate shells which are just barely touching. When you have two shells which exactly touch on a plane, PreForm has trouble resolving that plane. Because of numerical roundoff, some of the fill scans will end up missing some of the shells, while others will hit all of them.

If this is what’s happening here, the best thing to do is to union all of the shells together in your modeling program.

If you can’t do that, then the next best thing is to extend one shell into the other so that there is a bit of overlap (about the width of one layer perhaps). PreForm can figure that case out. It just has trouble when the planes are almost identical.

1 Like

The model is 1 piece and it’s hollow. I have test printed it with PLA, for sizing/scale. I then added the rivet and seam detail. Yes it could be make in multiple parts I guess, splitting the tank horizontally along the seam and adding the details on the top separately. Frankly the model is super, its just this effect of lines that need to be cleaned up