Converting Revit Models for Printing

I am interested in converting Revit models for 3D printing. I’m just learning about mesh editiing tools like meshlab and meshmixer. will any of these programs boolean all parts, and shell them out? Has anybody been printing building models with the form1?

There are many options including those. I have printed a few models from grabcad that come from revit I believe.

There are not a lot of great automatic tools that handle all cases but if your geometry in revit is generally ‘manifold’ in each of its individially parts. AND it has sufficient structural integrity that it will hold together once printed, you may be able to load directly in the preform software (preform is free from formlabs and uses netfab’s sdk).

You can also roll the dice and use Microsoft’s free model repair service that is also based on netfab. https://modelrepair.azurewebsites.net/index.php

Certainly meshlab and netfab tools can help bit require a bit of learning and u may need the netfab upgrade for their tool to be really useful.

I am interested in this particular area so I would be happy to help further.

Jeff

There is a plug-in for revit to export stl files but in my experience the best way is to export as fbx into 3ds max (fbx uses feet not metres, check this link out for advice - https://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/l8_fbx_optimizing_import_for_revit_fbx_files).

Once your model is in 3ds max fix it (there will be inconsistencies with verts and polys) and then save as obj. I use zbrush to shell my models then run them through the model repair service at https://netfabb.azurewebsites.net/ to ensure they are 100% error free.

I e-mailed the OP to offer help, but no reply.
@JasonSpiller I use the STL exporter and export in INCHES. It really would be helpful to sellout walls as they export solid all the time. But then again depending on the scale of the model you may not want to shell them.