Commercially Available UV curing chamber

Hello,

I am trying to find a good commercially available UV curing chamber to cure parts coming off our Form 2. If anyone knows of a good quality chamber let me know.
Thanks,
Cody

Cody,

The first thing I did after ordering my Form 2 a couple weeks ago was to start looking around for a curing chamber. There are a lot of DIY and “nail salon” curing solutions out there, but nothing that I saw as a commercial unit.

I even asked my account manager at Formlabs if one was in development and was told no, that most people are using the nail salon method with relative success. As a mechanical engineer, I want something a bit more reliable than the currently offered solutions.

Well, that’s the bad news. I suspect it won’t be much use to you, but I am actively working with an electrical engineer on exactly what you (and me) are looking for. I don’t feel comfortable yet discussing this in detail on the forum, but I would be glad to discuss offline if you, or anybody else, are interested. I don’t expect to have anything ready to go for at least a couple months. What I do have though, will be well made, validated with Formlabs resins, simple, and very capable.

I suppose this is a good opportunity to poll the community for interest. Those who are interested, please chime in. This will help me plan my first build.

Regards,

Paul McGarr

1 Like

A unit like this is definitely needed, especially for castable resins. It would be great if you can build a waterproof one that can hold oxygen-excluding liquid.

I am building my own Curing box but I too would be interested in a commercial unit at a fair price.

Marco,

I am happy to tell you that the unit I am developing now will be compatible with wet curing through the use of a glass reservoir that we will specify, but not likely supply. The plan is for IP65 rating on all electronics, and this would cover the occasional spillage.