Anyone doing 3D prints from TurboCAD Pro Platinum?

Is anyone out there doing 3D prints using TurboCAD Pro Platinum?

When I open .stl files created from TurboCAD Pro Platinum 2017 in PreForm, it says some loaded models are damaged and need repair. It then asks whether I would like PreForm to attempt to automatically repair these models. I click on repair and PreForm doesn’t complain, however, when I follow up with File Print PreForm says “No models loaded. Cannot print an empty job.”
The only thing in the TurboCAD model file is a solid box. Do I need to hollow out the box. Does the model need to contain only surfaces? Is there something I can do with the .stl file in TurboCAD to repair the model?

Don’t know where to go from here; But if someone has been successful at printing anything from TurboCAD, this would give me encouragement to keep trying. I’m new to 3D printing, so I wouldn’t be surprised if my process is incorrect.

Thanks,
John

Have you ever tried .obj format?

The STL-export filter of TC is not the best. It produces a lot of errors; the higher the complexity of the model, the more errors you’ll get. You have to repair the STL-file first before printing with repair-software like netfabb.

BTW: Never use TC-surfaces! Only volume models will work properly. And to hollow a modell will save expensive resin.

I’ve printed thousands of parts constructed with TC. It works!

JohnK

Johnk42,

Do you use the free version of netfabb?
(I notice they have a number of versions.; the cheapest paid version is $150 per month/$1000/year)!

Regards,
jmwright1058

I had the same issue with the STL file output from Moi3D, switching to OBJ helps alot but at times even the OBJ will need to be fixed/repair and I usually use Foundry Modo for that.

You can use the free Autodesk Netfabb Cloud Service. It can’t merge parts, but fixes most of the common errors (holes, disoriented triangles etc.)

JohnK

What do I choose for ‘Solid Mode’?