About to pull the trigger

I’ve looked around and I’m pretty sure the form 2 is the machine for me, but I just had a few questions to get off my chest first.

Which resin is best for detailed sculptural models? (I’m a 3d artist so mainly wanted to print out my characters) I don’t care so much about resin colour since I will probably clean up and primer regardless, so I’m looking mostly at detail and surface finish + ability to ‘finish’. Don’t discount 3rd party resins here if they are working out for you!

Is there a trade off between resin type and vat life?

Is it plausable for the hobbyist to run this machine? I’m not rich and I forsee alot of consumables mounting up costs! - is it possible to offset this by providing a service over the web? (I’m new to 3d printing)

Is it likely that the form 2+ / 3 will be released this year and make me regret?

Thanks!

The best materials for high detail small objects is either the new Grey V3 or Black. Black comes out with kind of a matte finish, gray will be more glossy, and that’s due to the amount of pigment in the resin. It can be sanded/polished very smooth though.

While I think there’s probably enough of a difference in the resins that could affect the vat life, I don’t know if they have any data on that. For clear/white/grey/black they are the same base with different pigment so those will have the same vat life.

I’m a hobbyist as well and currently use the machine for a single project I’ve been trying to do for quite some time, I wouldn’t be able to do the project without the printer, but the printer is a huge cost for a single project so the overall cost is quite high just from having to buy equipment, so if you have a lot of use for it then that helps justify the cost. I’m not sure I’d be into doing printing as a service though.