28mm & 56mm tabletop miniature print quality

Hello everyone,

I am new to 3D printing, however I have done some research and hope some of you can answer my questions regarding the Form 2 print quality. I want to print 28mm and 56mm tabletop resin miniatures. These will be for personal use at first, with future possibilities of sale. The models will be detailed, some with fine or sharp edges. Is it possible to creates prints that are close, if not comparable in accuracy to injection mold miniatures? Which resin should I use for best results? Thank you in advance.

I think this will answer some questions :

Grey resin is the most indicated for that kind of work, although it will yield parts that are a bit brittle, much more so than an injection molded part.

yes.

better than injection molded, because the figures do not have to be drafted to a parting line.

Surface quality will depend on the resin and level of detail in the model… some resins can not be printed at 25 micron layer thickness… but many models look just as good at 50.

it will take some experimentation to develop a feel for how to orient the model to get the best results- and do expect to spend some time removing and retouching support points, and occasionally some layer lines.

you can also break your models into separate pieces that can be assembled after print for even more detailed or complex results.

@Johnhue - Those look of excellent quality. What type of primer did you use? Will they be too brittle if handled frequently by adults? I would like to use them for our weekly gaming table.

I think the rest of your post answers my other question that they would be comparable in quality to injection mold. Thank you!