First print with a Form 1+

My experience is mostly with FDM but since I started designing jewelry and other smaller pieces, I wanted to try SLA technology to get small pieces with high resolution. Also to take advantage of available functional resins (castable, for example).

I acquired a used Form 1+ and I have to say that the previous owner may not have been as careful with it as I thought. I had to purchase a new resin tank and I was afraid that the machine wouldn’t even work… but here it is, the first print I made, both to get used to the software (and thinking how the object is made ‘upside down’!) and to the printing process itself.

Here is a tea light holder with a Celtic wolf design wrapping around, made in grey resin. The PLA version is next to it for comparison. As I get better understanding on how to work with supports with this printer, I’m sure I’ll get less support marks and better results. I’m still learning! For starters, to make this print again I’ll have to make it hollow to save time and resin… As it is, the tea light holder is quite dense and heavy!

This print was made with the lowest resolution and took ~4:30 hours to print. Comments and suggestions to help me learn and improve are much appreciated!

Sanding may take care of the support marks… but the ‘wavy’ patters that I see towards the top may be a sign of something else going on.

I don’t know what to make of crack you see below the wolf’s mouth… Would it disappear if the print is made in higher resolution? Or is this something related to the rinsing with IPA… Following the instructions, I rinsed the piece first 10 min, and then 20 min in IPA (99%).

Lot of support marks… I’ll get better at this. Also, quite a few ‘cracks’ that I don’t know if are related to the rinsing process or maybe ‘old’ resin?

Please note - this is not Form-specific commentary… It is conjecture.