Using SLA to print on a Fabrics

Hello :slight_smile:
I am new in SLA printers and I brought Formlabs 2. My main project or vision is to print on fabrics.
So I was wondering if anyone have tried to do such a thing ?
Can someone help and recommend for me a good resin that has very good adhesion properties?

I am also open if anyone has new ideas or intersets regarding this topic

Thanks

1 Like

It’s been neat to see some of the direct on fabric printing that’s being done with FDM. SLA might not work as well for this due to the force between a print and build plate, as well as the need to fully remove uncured resin from clothing afterwards…

What sorts of applications are you working on? Would it be viable for you to print the parts normally, and then use an adhesive to bond them to the fabric?

1 Like

I have tried the FDM and it was fine but the adhesion between the polymer and the fabric was not good enough that made me to think of SLA.

I thought that by the SLA technology the adhesion will be better. By using the UV light the resin will penetrates through the fabric and I will attach the fabric on the build plate as if the printing part will attach to the fabric. If you think this won’t work please inform me

You have a good point and still did not solve it yet. which is how I will remove the uncured resin while it is on the fabric.

Can you tell more about how can I make an adhesive bond after i have printed the first part ?

You could invest in a UV light source or laser… Like the type of Bulbs used in the formcure… take the finished print, and dip its bottom edge in the resin tank to wet the bottom with uncured resin, but just over the area of contact with the fabric. ( or use a brush to apply uncured resin to the surface you want to bond )