Two Tough cartridges worn out, not even 2L printed between both?

I’m new to SLA. We bought a Form 2 late last year and just got to printing some production parts from Tough material. I’m having satisfactory results, but just ran into a complete production standstill.

I printed a funnel, and when the first cartridge was reading low I started using another, then topped it off with the remnants of the first cartridge. This cartridge started telling me it was worn out, so I emptied what was left of this back into the first cartridge…there is a significant amount left. Now this cartridge is saying it’s worn out.

What is going on here? I have more material ordered, but now I can’t print until it arrives. One cartridge has maybe 1.3L ran through it at absolute most, the other well less than 1L. I’d estimate 500mL of resin left at least, being new to the Form2 and SLA I was conservative with material and there was more resin left than expected.

I’ve read just a bit about open mode, but it seems far inferior for Formlabs materials.

Thanks for any help!

What does ”worn out” mean?
If it said it’s unsure there’s enough resin left in the cartridge, just hit continue.

Cartridges don’t have a sensor - they don’t and cannot know how much resin is in them.
If you refill a cartridge, it will read as empty. The printer will display an error, but it will let you continue (and it will continue dispensing resin from the cartridge).

The only time this is not the case is if the cartridge itself is super old (and i mean really old) - then it will complain it’s too old and won’t let you continue (if i remember correctly).

It literally says the cartridge is worn out. They were telling me the cartridge was low after printing maybe .3L.

I just checked and I’ve barely printed over a liter between two cartridges and they both say they are worn out and must be replaced.