Transparent finish for hollow parts

I"m trying to get a transparent finish on hollow parts. While using a clear acrylic spray paint works well on the outside, I can’t get the internal surfaces coated. I have had luck buying a quart of clear lacquer and dunking the entire part in it, but the fumes are terrible and it takes a while for the lacquer to dry (and the smell persists for days). Anyone have any suggestions of a clear coat I can get in a large enough container to submerge parts and that I can safely use indoors?

1 Like

Hi gentarg,
I just got my Form2 a few weeks ago but I’m a metal-smith and I love http://www.sculptnouveau.com/
they are kinda the leading supplier in outdoor sculptures… but I can’t speak to resin since I’m new to this field…check out their sealers…they do big sculpture for installations… They are in NY…so call them…they are so nice…Hope this helps:))-ann

Try “Future floor shine”. It is widely used by scale modelers to create glossy surfaces. Dissolves with IPA. Harmless for use indoors.

I have heard that Glycerin works well, I haven’t tried it though.
Non-toxic and widely available, colourless and odorless

Plus, if you remember the commercials from way back, you get to ride around on a little hovering shield. :slight_smile:

+1 on the Future floor shine. Works great, and has a pretty low odor.

I used to paint 1/28 scale MiniZ RC cars, and would dip the bodies in the stuff 2-3 times (about 3-4 hours apart). The finish was absolutely awesome, the “wet” look, and it actually stands up pretty well to minor scuffs you get when racing these things.

1 Like

Someone else posted this on here somewhere… but the clear resin can be used to make the clear parts clearer.