Toxic? Where to put printer?

Hello,

I just bought a Form2 and I need to figure out the best place in the house. My friend, who owns a Form2, told be their might be toxic fume coming out of the printer and he told me to not use it in the house. I can’t really afford to have it outside because during the winter it’s very cold where I leave.

I though of putting it in the guest room and opening the windows once in a while during printing session, but even that solution doesn’t really works for during the winter.

So, is it real that it is toxic? Should I put it in a room where people don’t visit? What about accumulating toxic fumes in this room?

Any solution will be appreciated!

1 Like

In my opinion…
There is some Odor, but very little. Guest room is perfect… I think it should be kept at room temperature.

Hi @Marcologue I am far from an expert but I am an experienced F2 user and can help shed some light on your concerns. The resin itself has an odor but it is not necessarily toxic (maybe bothersome to some people). A few of the resins (flex, I’ve heard castable) have stronger odors than the normal resin.

Things that may be toxic (or at least incredibly irritating) :slight_smile:
- touching the uncured resin (can cause skin irritation),
- breathing dust from sanding the resin,
- fumes from burning the resin,
- drinking the resin or more realistically consuming anything in contact with the resin
- strong alcohol fumes from the IPA bath(s)

Those are the things I would be more worried about than the actual odor from the printer itself. I would think the guest room would be a perfect place for it. Lastly the printer likes the warmth and lack of moisture…careful about leaving those windows open…and most importantly have fun with your new printer!

• Kevin
1 Like