Tips for a newbie?

I’m relatively new to the Form2 and am not printing for professional reasons. I’m mostly printing 28mm miniatures and scatter terrain pieces. I print a lot of HeroForge models. I have a few challenges that I’d love to hear your thoughts on them.

1. I’ve been trying to just use the automated PreForm preparation, but the web of supports are really hard to removed without damaging the model. Should I try removing prior to curing? Should I start trying to use fewer manual supports?

2. Some of the pieces end up being pretty fragile. I’ve used standard gray and clear resins. Any suggestions on resins that might provide a little more strength to smaller areas like tiny weapons being held by figures?

3. I’d love to consider casting some of these. Any good primers out there on how to get started casting miniature figures from castable resins?

Thanks all!

1- you can try making the support attachments smaller and fewer- like with anything, practice will be the most instructive.
Also- the most important thing you can do for better prints and control of supports is often to print a figure in more than one piece. Sometimes something as simple as printing the upper and lower halves separate can make for a much better print with a lot less support needed.

2- Some folks swear by the dental resin for high detail.
Tough is pretty good- but won’t print at highest resolution.

3- the simplest way to make High accuracy molds for small detailed items is to use paper dixie cups.
-A- Buy a package of dixie cups. The kind with the simple straight tapered walls.