Some successful and not-so-successful prints

Hello,

I’ve been using my form 1 for a few months now with mixed results. I chalk up a lot of my initial failures to learning the process and whatnot. What seems to be happening in my case is once a print fails, it sticks to the bottom of the resin tank and continues to cure for hours on end until I wake up or come home to cancel the print. At this point, even after removing the cured resin there seems to be a permanent film of cured resin adhered to the bottom of the tank in some spots which in turn causes future prints that occur in that same spot to stick and fail. Is there some means of removing this from the bottom of the tank? I read that you aren’t supposed to use rubbing alcohol to clean the tank as it damages the silicone and I’ve also gotten a lot of damage occurring from the metal putty knife that came with the printer. I attempted to print a plastic scraper but in both attempts it failed and I had to scrape off the scraper :stuck_out_tongue:

Here’s the first bust I printed, originally sculpted in zbrush by myself. I’ve noticed I can usually get small versions of a bust to print but as soon as I start printing larger, the likelihood of a failed print rises dramatically. I have a bin of failed versions of this bust. I’ll post a painted version once I finish and paint these.

Here’s the second bust. In this case you can see how the smaller versions print fine but once I scale up the bust, the print fails. Initially I used the auto orient, which printed correctly at a small scale but the face failed to print at a larger scale. The pedestal did print correctly. In this case, I also hollowed out the bust and used the new .9 version of the software. I tried orienting the bust to print head first and leaving the opening in the bottom of the bust open so uncured resin doesn’t collect in the bottom but all that printed on the larger version was the supports. I have no idea why non of the bust printed.