Recommended minimum drain hole and vent hole sizes (by material)

I was curious to see what some of your recommendations are for the minimum drain hole and vent hole diameters(particularly for casting and clear grades)? I am printing a hollowed out part for investment casting. The smaller th holes, the better the casted part. I am new to printing hollow parts so I was wondering what hole sizes you have been using? Also, I ask based on material because the higher the viscosity of the material (such as durable), the larger the hole must be to be effective. If the formlabs team has info on this and I missed it, I apologize, if this is gained through experience, please share yours.

This was addressed in the new white paper for casting. I just found this recently. You’ll have to provide them contact info in order to download. I can’t find it on my computer…I’ll have to sign up and download again.

The white paper says something about being able to fill the inside with investment, but also the small amount of investment that fills the hole being able to support the weight of the “core” and hold it in place.

https://formlabs.com/jewelry-3d-printing-basic-design-parameters-supports-orientation/

What exactly are you casting? Jewelry, models, other? What is the thickness of the piece (not size, but thickness of the shell?). Is there a possibility of casting in two pieces and soldering/welding/gluing/joining the two halves?

I recently modeled a rubber chicken and put 2mm holes to drain the resin and be able to clean the uncured resin from the inside. However, my intention was to fill the holes to make a plaster mold which could be used to make a hollow rubber chicken with “slush” rubber. https://www.monstermakers.com/rd-407-mask-making-latex/