More clever supports idea

I noticed that the resin vats are dotted with little dots after a while.
This clouding of the silicon layer is due to the vertical supports because the laser shines on the same area through all the height of the support.
So instead of doing vertical columns braces with diagonal struts, it would be more clever to use an angled 3D lattice.
Moreover, I think that the supports could be made more efficient by making it a real space frame instead of braced columns.
In short : less material, stiffer, and spreading the wear of the vat more evenly.

PS : I am a structural engineer :slight_smile:

Thanks for the suggestion! Support structures have come a ways since the Form 1 days, but they continue to be a main point of focus as we develop our ecosystem.

Hi Oliver, after how many prints were you noticing this? I’m not a form 2 user yet, but I am trying to get an idea about this, and how rapidly this affect actually occurs.

It is really hard to give specifics on how quickly that happens. It happens slower than you might think. I was printing multiple batches of the exact same part. The parts are only 3 inches tall and I was using Tough resin. After the first batch I could barely see the ghosting. After the fifth batch I could clearly see the ghosting. But there was very little noticeable difference in the quality of the parts printed in the 6 batch. I really had to look to see it. I could have moved the parts around the print bed a little between batches. I don’t expect I would have trouble until I am half way through a second cartridge of resin. Now that they are offering the new LT tanks I don’t expect it will be much of a problem going forward.