Is there a guide for dummies for OpenFL?

Hi. I wish to use the OpenFL technology to allow me to pause and raise the printhead at certain layer levels during the print. I’ve read through the read-me and attempted a few things from the forum discussion, but to no avail. I have never used Python before so this is likely the kicker for me. Does anyone have a dummies guide for using OpenFL that may allow me to achieve the above? Thanks!

1 Like

Hi, following up from last message, this is the stage where I am at. Is anybody able to tell me where I am going wrong? Thanks

It looks like your Python search path doesn’t include the OpenFL directory, so it can’t find the module to import. Check out Python’s documentation on how modules work, or this Stack Overflow Q&A.

Hi Matt, I think I’ve found the directory now and was able to progress a little bit and now get these error messages. I’m currently working on a computer that isn’t connect to the Formlabs 3D printer (as I wanted to familiarise myself with Python) so I assume the error messages I am receiving are related to that. Would you agree and do you think I am ready to attempt this on my computer connect with the Form1+ printer? Thanks

It doesn’t look like you’re ready to connect to a printer.

Reading the error messages, I see
ModuleNotFoundError: no module named 'usb'

This indicates that OpenFL isn’t succeeding in importing usb.core (which it does here). Have you installed pyusb?

Taking a step back, did you follow this setup guide? Did you read all of the outputs carefully to make sure that each step succeeded?

In general, folks have had a lot of trouble with pyusb on Windows. If you end up in that situation, I’d recommend running OpenFL in a Linux VM as a workaround.

Hi Matt,