Hollow ring model prints solid

Can someone help printing a tapered ring. If I model it with tinkercad it prints correctly “hollow”. But tinkercad models are not very acurate circles.
If I model with Fusion 360 or Onshape cad it prints as a solid mass.

Picture. “Tapered Ring” could mean a lot of different things…

I am new to this
smallfiltertest10mm12mm2mmwall.stl (70.4 KB)
File attached.

So you don’t want this to be a solid, you want it to be hollow inside? What wall thickness?

Try feeding your STL in to MeshMixer and use the “hollow” function that’s there.

Note, if the inside is hollow the model will need holes to allow resin trapped inside during printing process to escape. I did not make any holes in this model.

What I did was take a cross section of your ring, and then I tunneled out the center of the cross section so it looked like this (note, made no attempt to get the walls all 2mm thick). The black wireframe is your original model file, displayed in the background for the sake of clarity on what I did.

Then I lathed it 360º to get back to the full object. Note, I made all the polys one sided and then flipped them all so you could see inside.

And here it is!

smallfiltertest10mm12mm2mmwall Hollow.stl (200.1 KB)

So I printed this and it comes out as a solid puck. Wall thickness was 2mm.
I just need the inside to be a simple ring with solid walls.

I am not explaining this very well. It is to be a ring with 2mm thick sides and taper. Very simple. I am new to resin printing I have been using Ultimaker for a few years.

[IGNORE THIS POST :slight_smile: ]

Check the STL I attached to my post, above. It’s not perfectly 2mm wall thicknesses because I was just trying to bang something out quick. But the methodology I describe will work.