Has anyone tried illuminating colored resin from within?

Hey, everyone, this is my first time posting but I am looking to see if anyone can help with a very specific instance.

I am working on a light up Batphone in miniature. I have the model and have been using clear resin that is painted with red enamel model paint on the outside only. I have lights inside the model and, when lit, everything looks pretty good. However the lighting feature can be a bit uneven due to how well I paint (or not). So I was thinking of using the colored resin.

I was curious if anyone knows how light might pass through colored the resin if illuminated from within? Or is the colored resin TOO opaque and solid to let any light through altogether?

I have also considered dying the clear resin post-print, and from what I can tell results seem pretty good, however the print still maintains a clearish look and I need at least a VERY mild opaqueness for the phone to look a more solid color.

I have attached a couple pics of the current model that has been painted and what it looks like with the phone not lit up and then what it looks like lit up from within.

Just DYE the clear resin with RED pigment and it will be mostly translucent and to the desired effect. You dont need to do it post-printing if you dont want to.

Yes I figured I could do this as well. Any suggestions which type of dye to use? I have RIT dye at home that I have used for other projects.

I know I can do this in an experimental way with the clear resin… but I was wondering about the results of the Formlabs solution with the color kit.

RIT DyeMore diluted in IPA is effective on green parts (before post-curing), have not tested on uncured resin but I believe some on the forum have.