Getting rid of the VOCs and smell

Hi all,

I’m wondering if anyone has experimented with using something like an air purifier or filter to get rid of the VOCs and associated smell of the Form 2 resins. Our printer is in our office area and while it isn’t too bad, it would be nice to eliminate the smell and any potential respiratory issues.

Usually we run our prints at night, but we are generating some longer prints now that run into the morning and it’s pretty noticeable walking in.

I was thinking of using an ionizer, but ozone probably isn’t great for you either.

Let me know if you’ve found something that works.

IMO I don’t feel the ionizer is the way to go. In my lab we have a blower set up directly above the printer. It is connected to a vent that goes straight up and out of our building. The blower is connected to a switch and during long prints, or when using IPA, etc. I just turn the blower on and up and out go the VOC’s, smells, etc.

Of course I work in a lab in an industrial warehouse, so much of this was easily accessible and easy to setup. Maybe in a small office/home/apartment you could set up a desktop blower, or even a fan towards a window? @cjones went all out.

Ionizer won’t help with the odor and smell of the VOCs, you need something to absorb it. I believe you need an activated carbon filter for this problem.
Also it is better to have a strong fan and blow it out of window. I find one air purifier in this list and it works like charm - the Coway.

I have my Form 2 in my office.
I bought a used Steelcase cabinet in which I keep the printer and the tanks and resin cartridges.