Form 2 Reliability

I work as a technician at a university where there are a number of Form2 printers.
The quality of prints and the versatility of the system were so good, that the group I support purchased one in February 2018.
It is now November 2018 and we are currently having issues with our 3rd printer.
Each time we have reported these issues to FORMLABS support and (after some quite extensive testing on my part) they have replace our malfunctioning system.

The first printer developed an issue after around 6 months of moderate use (2 - 3 12 hour prints per week) with the motors that control the resin tray and wiper. We returned this printer to FORMLABS as instructed and have had no further information about what the fault was.

Our second printer was with us for less than 2 months and used significantly less, but still developed a critical failure, this time with the control board for the optics.
This printer is awaiting collection.

Our third and current printer has today (it was delivered Monday), repeatedly failed to print, displaying Error Code: 41.
I have ensured that Pre-Form and the printers firmware are up to date, reset the printer after each failed print and ensured that the resin cartridge, resin tray, build platform and wiper are all clean and correctly installed.
Still I am unable to print.

The other Form2 printers at the university have been in operation much longer than mine and have had significantly less issues.
Is my experience unusual or have my colleagues been extremely lucky?

I run a UPS supply on mine. Not just in the case of a power outage but to insure that there is clean power going to the machine. A machine with clean well grounded power is a happy machine.

1 Like

We’ve thought about using a UPS with ours.
But currently it’s powered through a power monitor and we haven’t seen any unexpected power losses / spikes so it felt pointless.