Form 2 / Clear V2 resin: Non-specific DNA capture? Biocompatibility?

Hi folks!

I’m using the From2 / Clear V2 resin to print microfluidic prototypes to isolate DNA from bacterial samples. DNA yield was poor on the 3D printed device compared to standard manufacturer protocol. After thoroughly troubleshooting, it looks like there is some non-specific loss of DNA to the interior walls and channels.

Formlabs support suggested that the resin is highly inert and should not exhibit any affinity towards DNA.

Has anybody ever faced an issue similar to mine?

Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

1 Like

I have some limited experience with using Formlabs resins in microfluidic devices for nucleic acid analysis. I’m a mechanical engineer so I only learned a little bit from the biologists I worked with. We tested Clear V2 and Dental SG V1 to make sure they didn’t inhibit amplification reactions, and they performed acceptably in DNA and RNA amplification, but maybe that doesn’t say much about nonspecific binding. Could you use a blocking agent like a BSA solution to treat the surfaces of your device? I believe we treated membranes with BSA to prevent DNA from getting stuck on them.

1 Like

@piGuy thank you for the response! Using BSA solution is a good suggestion! What membrane did you treat with BSA? Did you treat clear V2 with BSA? I wonder if BSA treatment works the same with cured resin - something I will have to test.
That’s an interesting point you make about acceptable DNA and RNA amplification. If all of the temperature cycling conditions were maintained correctly, it’s possible that some of the amplified DNA stuck to the walls.

I’m a medical device engineer. While I am not a biology guy, I would probably steer you toward the resins that Formlabs has biocompatibility data for.