First Jewlery Prints with Formone (Game Changer)

HI Everyone,
I wanted to share with everyone my initial experiences with my printer.

A little background about myself. I am a third generation jeweler and I primarily design and manufacture my designs overseas where all our models are wax carved by hand. It is a slow and tedious process that can take about 6 weeks from conception to final sample.

I have been researching 3d printing for a couple of years to help with improving the workflow of sample production and had my eye on the formone since its kickstarter campaign. I finally took the plunge and received my formone two weeks ago. After a few runs all I can say is WOW!!! I cannot begin to describe my overall satisfaction. Attached are some pics of the first prints.

We are being very careful about maintenance since I have heard of issues regarding longevity and output. Hopefully my printer won’t breakdown as I have heard from other users on the thread. We try to keep printing time to under 3:30 minutes and I think we have been successful due to the small size of the samples we print. We also have experienced some flaking but usually these can be removed after curing.

Despite the concerns, I am thrilled. Before I would have to spend well over $100 per print outsourcing it to another person with a printer. I get close to same or better results compared to their $25000 solidscape printer. We have already printed a couple dozen samples and are close to seeing our return on initial investment. My workflow has reduced from weeks to literally a couple of days and I have big plans in the future with sample development. I will probably buy another formone in the near future so I can reduce possible downtime.

Its incredible, I haven’t been this excited in the jewelry industry in years. It is truly revolutionary and my only regret is not joining the party earlier. Happy printing!

-Shawn

2 Likes

Hi @Shawn_Behnam,