Calibration Part III - the quest for dimensional accuracy/precision models

Continuing the discussion from More Calibration:

Firstly, many thanks to @ChristopherBarr for the great ideas and parts (and also thanks to @Formlabs1 customer support for pointing out the first thread to me…); @JoshK deserves a mention again, no doubt, although it’s no longer very clear to me, I’m afraid, exactly what part he played… but he seems to be active and helpful, so I guess that’s as good a reason as any :smile: !

Anyway, I’m an engineer and looking for precision of at least +/-0,2mm, preferably +/-0,1mm or better - up until now I’ve been getting widely varying results from pretty much spot on to nearly 2mm off, depending upon orientation and part, with a definite tendency for x and y to be too small and the z to be too big. It’s early days, of course, having only just performed Christopher’s calibration procedure, but everything he’s written really makes sense, so here’s hoping.

Here’s my print of his ‘calibration steps’ - I found I only needed to cut away small sections of the supports on 2 sides to be able to access with the calipers, which was not much effort at all, so I think he hit a sweet spot with that; additionally, there’s no real need for marking x and y, since one side has no supports:

(guys, I trust I got X and Y the right way round…?)

Here are the values I got from measuring the steps: