What Do Engineers Think of the Form 2?

I am a mechanical engineer and just ordered a Form 2. I plan to use it primarily for previewing designs that are headed for injection molding, among other things. I have a lot of experience with SLA parts so I know what is possible from the big guys. Now, I don’t expect the Form 2 to compete with a $50k printer, but I do expect it to be relatively accurate and reliable over its work envelope. Relatively being the key word. I don’t really know what to expect because there is not a lot of data out there regarding dimensional accuracy.

So, I would like to hear from other engineers that own a Form 2 and have put it to the test dimensionally. Anybody out there care to share their opinion? You’d think I would have asked this before I ordered, but I know this is as good as it gets at the desktop level. I know I made a good choice among other options.

Not a mechanical engineer, but I have a fair amount of mechanical engineering experience. Both my Form1+ and Form2 seem to be pretty accurate, within about 0.1mm in any dimension. But I’ve noticed a few posts in this forum from users with much larger dimensional errors.

I started with a FDM printer, which was lousy. And since I also own a CNC, I got in the habit of machining the surfaces I needed to be really accurate. All you need to do is a finishing pass, so machining time on a printed part is much less than hogging the part out of a billet.

And I’ve gotten better about designing for the capabilities of the printers, too, so I haven’t needed to machine any Form printer parts in a long time.

And both printers make really nice parts once you get a handle on their strengths and weaknesses…