Watch Company 3D printer

Hi Formlabs fans and experts.

So to got straight to buisness I am a designer working as a Watch designer, and I am searching for the perfect tool to bring our designs to Life.

After a failed purchase of a “Makerbot replicator 5th generation” I don not have the patience and money to make an other mistake.
As I see the prints all look very nice and all but I am not an 3D printer head / expert. therefore I am her to ask to make sure if the FormFab is the right choice for our company,

How well would the printer work for very fine detailed jewelery and watches? will is be possible to see the samll logos on a watch dial?

Also is there anybody out there nice enought to print a test STL file I would send them for me to see the quality with NO post finishing work what so ever? if yes please let me know and I can send you 2 STL files with an exemple watch… I would be very thankfull for this :smile:

Hopefully i am not asking a stupid question or asking for to much.

Currently I think the Form 1+ is the best option for me.

Best Regards,
max

Hi Max,

Glad to hear you’re considering the Form 1+! Some watch models were printed at Formlabs HQ in December. The part was printed in grey at 50 microns. Detail came out pretty well, keeping in mind that the part was printed on a Form 1. Using a Form 1+ with black resin would yield a more detailed print.

Feel free to send me your files; I’ll give them a try—I’m a big watch fan. Also, you can request a sample part here.

3 Likes

This video from 1 year ago goes through the Form 1 process from design to finished prototype and uses watch faces as the example part. As Craig pointed out, the Form 1+ with black resin will yield more accurate parts with finer details more quickly.

1 Like

Wow ok the finishing looks amazing. also I must admit that the Formlabs community / support is awesome.