My first project with form2

Heys, this is my first project with my form2!. I kind of realized a bit later on that its probably a bit ambitious the cool thing is, even though there were some difficulties here and there, overall, things have come together really well, I’m around the 60% mark printing out the outer shell at the moment.

It was created as part of a 3D concept design tutorial Ive been working for LinkedIn/lynda.com that got published recently at the end of march.
https://www.lynda.com/Fusion-360-tutorials/Fusion-360-Product-Design-Lighting/513585-2.html
or
https://www.linkedin.com/learning/fusion-360-product-design-lighting

Which mainly covers how to more easily think about starting and modeling some nice organic forms and take them through the process of detailing them up enough to be printed, the model from the outset been designed to be diced up and printed on a form2 and I’m most of the way through printing out my reference model that was used to validate the design and model created for the course.

screenshot of concept model in fusion360

This was one of the original concept models before we went full whale on it :wink: at this time it was more spiky alien spaceship lamp, but my girlfriend (and the producers) thought it looked a bit suspect! so i updated it & added some fins etc… I liked that it was more sculptural and suggestive of a sort of swimming / diving sort of shape / form people could make up their own mind what it was… anyhow…
It was always going to be a LED light that could be controlled via a smartphone so these are some concept renders to help pitch the idea.

white light 1

white light 2

blue light

green

so jumping ahead after a few design iterations…
This is one of the concept renderings done of the more final model in fusion360. (renderings not covered in the course though)

A screenshot of the underside of the base/head end model

A test print of the same in the new f3 matte gray