LED Light

I’m a CNC Programmer/Manufacturing Engineer. At work there’s not much light in the machines and everyone complains about it, so I made this light. 2000 lumens, you see spots if you look directly at it. I put a magnet in it so it will stick to the machines. Works great. Took 16 hours to print and almost used the entire z axis of my Form 2.

6 Likes

Very nice work Gerald!!! What is the cost for all the supplies to make the light (not including printing)?

Chris

You going to add a lens to diffuse the light so there are no hot spots? Like a bike reflector panel?

Since I just made the one I didn’t get any deals on materials. LEDs are $18/ft used 2ft
Wall adapter $15
Safety glass $50
8 m4 screws and nuts $5
Magnet $30

I’m making 10 smaller ones since the guys at work want to buy them. They will be about 1/3 the size, because the first one was overkill. Much cheaper too.

1 Like

I wasn’t thinking about it. Ordinarily it’s in a position where I’m not looking at it directly. That is a good idea though. Not sure where I would get a diffuser. I switched from glass to polycarbonate, which I can get locally at a plastic shop. I think all they have is clear or colored stuff. I think I’ll ask them if they can get something that would work as a diffuser.

Maybe the replacement sheets they use for fluorescent lighting? Just cut off a piece.

1 Like

I want it to be strong in case it gets dropped on something in the machine which is very easy to do. The cutting fluid is very slippery. Maybe a frosted polycarbonate.

Found these at Mcmaster carr but maybe they can send you a small piece.

1 Like

Frosted PC or PMMA is pretty common where I live, you should be able to find some too. Expect at least 40% of loss in the light output though…

40% loss! That sounds like too much. I wonder if they make different levels of frost so there isn’t as much light lost.

1 Like