Identifying code or number for each print

As a jeweler I am constantly printing, making small changes, and then printing again. Sometimes the changes are so small that you can barely even see them in preform, let alone on the printers display. So what happens is while I’m doing a million things I’ll hit print, move on to something else while for a minute, and then when I go to hit print on the printer I have doubts whether I’m seeing my latest model on the screen, or if I maybe forgot to hit print and it’s still showing my previous one. So I hit print again, and then actually watch the printer display to see “uploading X%”.

I think a nice solution to this non problem would be a tiny box on screen in preform after you hit send. Either in one of the corners or next to the “Track print online” button that would show a random 4 character code. The printer would have the same code displayed in a corner when showing a model on screen to make it easier to verify that you are in fact printing the correct version of your print.

Like I said above this is kind of a non-problem, but something that would make my daily use just a little bit more efficient. I’d love to see this simply as some option that you could enable if you wanted it and I can’t imagine it’d be to hard for the programmers to implement in a future update.

2 Likes

Just change the name for every revision you upload, at least, that’s what I do.

1 Like

That is one solution. Like I said his is a Non-issue. It’s not that it couldn’t be solved by the user, but it’d be a nice little addition to the functionality of preform.

Yup, on as default would probably grind some gears, but might be a nice little addition if not a PITA to implement.

To take it a step further it would be nice to track changes to a pre-existing form file. You know, as long as we are requesting the ability to be lazy users. :wink: This could be displayed somewhere in the GUI or even appended to the file name.