Final product orientation & workflow

Hi folks,

I posted about this a month ago, but after an interesting discussion on the Feature Requests & Ideas forum regarding internal supports, I want to raise the question again with the benefit of further data & background detail. This is an absolute brain dump of where I’m at with this project, so be warned it’s a long read!

After a long journey prototyping and testing my Irish pennywhistle design, I’ve come to the point where I’m ready to start selling them, with the eventual goal of making instruments and doing music performance full-time. The final parts are 3D printed in Formlabs clear resin, given a base coat of acrylic paint, and finally sealed with food-safe 2-part resin. I’m trying to optimize my final production workflow, and while I’ve become a very good woodwind maker over the last half decade, I’m still relatively new to 3D printing. I got into 3D printing specifically to make woodwinds, not as a hobby based around the manufacturing method, so there’s been a significant learning curve, and I’m curious for suggestions based on your experiences.

Key Goals:

• Preserve areas of critical accuracy at the windway face and airblade
  • Orient print for straightest airstream between windway entrance and airblade
  • Optimize support removal to maximize speed of descaffolding, minimize pitting on aesthetic surfaces, and minimize care needed when removing supports

The Whistlehead:

Meet the Irish pennywhistle! Although based on the same mechanism of action as the renaissance & baroque instruments known as recorders, it sounds quite different, and the geometries of the key areas aim to achieve very different outcomes.