Resins, castings, oh my

I’m new here and have enjoyed reading the topics over the last half hour. I’m at present printing a ring using Firecast resin and hope all turns out ok on my B9. I have been doing jewelry for almost 30 years and have to say the modifications I have had to make to my oven, casting techniques to get a resin to cast has been taxing on the soul at times. I love my B9 for prints and have to say that the detail it puts out is amazing, would recommend it to everyone.

I have been using the resin from the B9 folks and my prints are amazing, no problems with their formula on printing, but will say that their 1:1 mix seems to work the best. Below is what I’ve done to my oven to introduce more air flow thanks to the folks in the B9 forum on giving me the suggestion.

Here is what I have copied over from my post in the B9 forum to see what some of you think here about it. I think it’s a good idea to share info to help get a better finished product while also getting critiqued. The only thing that has changed as I’m getting better (not great) results is switching to R&R Plasticast.

I have my castings fixed and wanted to share just what worked after receiving so much help here, and from reading others problems and tricks. I took some time and called Satin Cast to talk about the temps that are being suggested on Monday, and the breakdown of the investment along with other problems I was having. I spoke with Philip Read Product Manager and the one thing he made clear was no matter what your oven says on the outside on a temp gauge, it should not go over 1350-1375 (inside flask) at its core as the investment will break down, crack, and discolor. All of what I have always knew (and I’m sure most of you did too), and thought that seeing folks here taking temps up that high satin cast could take the heat and my problems were something else. My investment was breaking down thus having awful castings.