Jewelry Advice?

I’m in the process of modeling/printing a ring and I’m wondering if anyone has any advice for modeling the settings. I come from an organic box modeling background, so CAD stuff is pretty alien to me. I have access to standard Rhino and possibly Solidworks.

I know the shapes of the stones I want, but I’m not sure if there are 100% standard sizes for settings or what. Any advice would be great! :smile:

It’s based on a ring I got from my grandmother years and years ago, but with some slight modifications. I’m also hoping to add a marquise cut stone to the center instead of the round one.

Sorry for the potato-quality photos!

1 Like

Nice modeling. You may want to check out MOI 3d (moment of inspiration). It is a really easy cad program written by the guy that originally wrote Rhino. Software doesn’t break the bank and I have never had the program crash EVER!

I’m not a jewelry designer so can’t help you with the stone setting. Not sure if there are stone models you can import in?

1 Like

Hi Roxanne - maybe I can help you. I have a CAD Service for Goldsmiths and used to be a Goldsmith myself. I don’t work with Rhino but with a special jewellery software called 3Design.
do you want to do the settings separate and solder them in after casting? You can mail me directly if you want info@juliaware.com and I can help you out.

Julia

1 Like

Hi roxanne,

I do jewellery designing job-work. We do it within 2 to 3 days. Could help you out with yours sketches also.

just check out www.facebook.com/sindoncadcam

if any need for it please contact

bhrugesh virani
ph +91 98790 00091

Hi Roxanne: