Thoughts on unmonitored prints?

Hey everyone,

I’m very new to printing on my formlab 2, only four prints in. I’ve never printed anything without watching it the entire time, I’ve always been worried something will fail, cause resin to overflow, and destroy the optics below. How likely is this? Any tips on printing unsupervised? Or should I always watch my prints as they go?

I usually run my prints right before I leave work and get them out the next morning or on Monday if I started the print on a Friday., Sometimes you will have a print fail and stick to the bottom of the tank but it is as simple as scraping the cured resin out of the bottom of the tank and filtering the resin to get anything you may have missed. I do make sure I am there until the print starts. I do not see a problem running it unsupervised. If you want to you could setup a webcam so you can check in on it to ease your mind.

Chris

3 Likes

I have about 200 prints on my Form2, I have never “supervised” a print. My printer is in a different part of the building where I work. I’ll check on it a couple of times a day … often my prints run at night or over the weekend. I suppose I could setup a camera.

Sure, there is a small chance something could go wrong. There are several catastrophic stories on these forums. From what I have seen FL support is excellent at getting you back up and running after a catastrophe.

2 Likes

When a print does fail or fall off what happens? I’ve had two fail but it would stop the print and I grab them out (with tools), Does it pause the heating/ do prints get disrupted?

Also, if printing multiple prints in one go, what do you do if one fails? Pull it out and let it continue the print? Will cured resin get caught in the tank then where the print once was suppose to be?

Normal for people to be nervous with their first prints but the confidence will grow. Not to say you won’t have failures but you will learn from your mistakes.

1 Like