I am smarter than the printer!

I’m an engineer, I get it. Sensors are nice and useful. It’s a good way to keep the wrong material from mixing in the wrong tray. Or the wrong material from being used on the wrong print job. But what happens when the sensors break? The Form 2 becomes absolutely useless.

Why isn’t there an override? I know that the tank is installed correctly. I know that the material matches. I know that everything is as it should be. But because the sensor only works intermittently, the machine becomes useless. And worse, it starts to work as it should, but then decides that the cartridge is no longer installed mid-print wasting time and money. And pissing off my customer in the process.

What can fix this? An override. A simple, “are you sure you want to proceed” or a manual selection of what material is installed. An advanced “I’m actually smarter than the machine” mode is what we need. Why doesn’t this exist? And I’m not talking about Open Mode. I purchased the Formlabs materials, I want it to work with the advantages of the machining knowing those materials.

4 Likes

Run in Open Mode and bypass the sensor totally. You do have to manually fill the tray and the wiper and heater are turned off. Those should be options on the screen but FormLabs want’s to force you to “Do It Their Way!”

Like my Kawasaki dealer telling me to only run the bike in 1st and second gear?

No. I paid for a machine to work in all its modes, I paid a LOT of money, and I do not think it is unreasonable to expect it to work.

I’ll run it in Open Mode if FormLabs will refund me half the money…

1 Like