Can you really justify upgrading from a Form 2 to a Form 3

Is it really justifiable to upgrade to a Form 3 when I’ve only had a Form 2 for 9 months. As I am only a hobbyist the only real difference for me is accuracy

I guess also the fact the form2 has max 2 years of support left.

I’m not using the Form 2 as a hobbyist but if I were, my main worry would be the longevity of the machine, ie the availability of parts, supports and self-repairability. In that sense the Form 3 upgrade is justifyable (not because the previous points are solved with the new machine but because the Form 2 will become un-serviceable in a short amount of time) but that’s because of the quite agressive support restriction that Formlabs is putting on the machines… which is not so terrible in a professional setting but also the main reason why I’m not buying a Formlabs machine for myself.

As for more technical reason, I asked myself the same question and I have not come across any information regarding an accuracy improvement. That being said there are things that change which may improve accuracy, such as reduced peel forces (the peeling operation can deform parts) and the reduced support point sizes which will allow you to get more details out of the heavily supported parts.

It depends on can you made up the money earned by the printer output , if for hobby no money can earn, then how much did you want to pay for the joys? Like some bird photographers pay more $ on a tele lens than a Form 3L .
I would only consider bigger Form 3L is worth upgrading over Form 2

I run a small home based business and have 2 Form 2 machines running quite steady. Thing is profits are low as the competition is high in my field. Justifying a new machine is questionable as there are many “unanswered” questions that have been solved with the Form 2 machines. Only way I make money at all is using ALW resin. Just the difference in that cost is a good part of my profits.